DIY Fridge File

Standard

I was doing a little internet surfing a few weeks back and came across this great product from Mead.

It is a Fridge Filer.  It has three plastic pockets with tabs and a large magnetic strip at the back so it can be hung on the fridge.  As many homes use their fridge door as the family filing cabinet,  I could see that this was a great piece of stationery to organise all those documents and a must have for my house.

In the Cooked Household I would normally pin my ‘To Do Lists’ and my ‘Meal Planner’ to the fridge.  As they are both printed on A4 sheets of paper, they can take up a fair chunk of space.  I wanted the Mead Fridge Filer but as my luck would have it, they don’t sell these in Australia.  Not content to give up on a great idea, I set about making one for myself.

As a teacher and stationery lover, I have a huge stockpile of all sorts of folders and plastic sleeves.  After a rat around, I found this clamp file.

With a little hot glue, I attached some magnets to the back.

Now I had my fridge file solution, but as per usual, I decided to extend the project.

Hating the idea of throwing out my paper to-do lists and meal planner each day/week, I decided to go a little more environmentally friendly.  I created some proformas for these documents in Word, then printed and laminated them for the fridge file.  This way they only need a quick wipe over to be used again, or in the case of my daily to do list, I can remove the items I have completed, leaving the remaining ones for my next day’s list.

So here is my fridge file in place.  I have attached a suction cup toothbrush holder to the fridge to hold my pens, including some whiteboard ones for my laminated lists.

Maybe when I get some more time down the track I will make this fridge file a little more pretty.  For the moment I am just happy to find a solution to my messy fridge filing system.

 

14 responses »

  1. Great idea. I have a link party on Wednesdays, and I would love it if you would link this and any other posts. It is called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Link Party. It runs from Wednesday to Sundays.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2012/08/tangerine-toner-and-wednesdays-adorned.html
    I hope to see you there. I am your newest follower, and I would love for your to follow me also. Have a great Day.
    Debi Bolocofsky
    Adorned From Above
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

  2. Pingback: Simply Sensational Tuesday #23 | Organizing Homelife

  3. Pingback: Riverton Housewives and Recipe Round Up Features! -

  4. Wow … I have been searching for one of the Mead ones but will look no further. I have everything I need right here. Thanks for sharing your clever idea

Leave a comment