Popcorn Words: Sight Word Organisation

Standard

At my son’s school they call their sight words, Popcorn Words, as they ‘pop’ up all over the place. With a bit of time on my hands over the Christmas holidays, I thought I would make his sight word flash cards a little more interesting. This is what I did…..

I downloaded a picture of a piece of popcorn and replicated it over and over.  I then typed my son’s sight words over the top and printed them on cardstock.

Popcorn (Sight) Word Practise and Storage

I had intended on laminating the popcorn words to make them a little more sturdy but cutting them out once from the cardstock was more than enough. There was no way I was going to punish myself with cutting them out again!

As it is easy to forget popcorn word practice, I wanted a good storage solution for them.  One that was attractive enough to leave in the main areas of the house, so we would see it and remember to quiz Master O.  I purchased this ceramic popcorn container from Target.  If you are worried about it being broken, you can also pick up cardboard box versions in variety stores for next to nothing.

Popcorn (Sight) Word Practise and Storage

Popcorn word time is now rarely forgotten with this new storage solution and it is just a little bit more fun for a 6-year-old. I will post soon about some of the ways we mix up our popcorn word practice to make it interesting. Have a great day.

Popcorn (Sight) Word Practise and Storage

 

 

One response »

Leave a comment