Prolonging the Life of Cut Flowers

Standard

Who doesn’t like cut flowers? I find great joy in picking out a bunch of beautiful flowers and bringing them home to pretty up the house.  However, flowers can be a bit of a luxury item.  Depending on the time of year and where you buy them, they can be expensive.

Prolonging the Life of Cut Flowers

I generally buy my flowers from farmer’s markets as they are significantly cheaper than store-bought bouquets.  The flowers are also cut only hours before I buy them, so I know that I am going to get maximum life out of my arrangement.

To prolong the life of my bouquets, I follow some advice my florist gave me many years ago……

Feed and prevent bacteria in the arrangement by using a simple preservative mix.  To a clean vase filled with luke warm water add, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, 1 tablespoon of sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of bleach.

Before adding the flowers, trim the stems on an angle and remove any foliage from the lower end of the stem (no leaves should sit in the water).  Endeavour to change the water every other day, trimming the stems again before returning the flowers to the water.

Keep the arrangement away from hot or sunny positions.

This advice has always worked for me and I am often amazed at how long my arrangements hang in there.  I hope it works for you too.

 

 

One response »

Leave a comment