Budget Kitchen Wall Art

Standard

I have fallen hard for all the typography art that is around these days.  I would cover my walls in words, sayings and subway prints if I had a chance.  One of my first purchases in this vein was a set of ceramic words, ‘cook’ and ‘eat’, for the kitchen in bright red.  They were an absolute bargain – like $8 at Kmart.

So after positioning them on the small wall I have above my kitchen work top, you can see I was left with an empty space.  Unusually for me, I have left this go unfilled for quite a while.  This week, getting sick of not finding something I love to go there, I decided to create my own piece of art.

I purchased a suitably sized deep frame from Kmart for $6 in white.  I wanted a shadow box style  frame but I couldn’t seem to easily find one but thought that this, with a little tinkering, would easily convert into one. I raided my son’s cutlery draw and found a small fork and knife that sat nicely inside the mat board of the frame.  I then went and purchased a can of gloss all-surface spray paint in red to paint these (sorry it didn’t even occur to me to photography these pre-project).

Getting busy with the spray can yesterday, I painted the frame and the cutlery.  This morning I mucked around with the frame to make it into a shadow box, glued the cutlery to the board and framed it all up.

Getting the frame to hang in the right position was a cinch with these 3M picture hanging strips.

They are like velcro.  One side sticks to the frame and the other to the wall.  They now make them in skinny strips so they attach beautifully to a narrow frame’s edges like the ones on my frame.

So this is what the wall ended up looking like:

I think it doesn’t look too bad.  Certainly worth the $6 it cost me without the paint which I have heaps left of for another project.

 

17 responses »

  1. Firstly, I love the color. =D My kitchen is a retro robin’s egg blue with red pops. So immediately this project was a win-win for me. I’d love to see how you made the regular frame into a shadowbox- I’m looking into having some folded paper framed and I’d like to DIY. Altogether your art turned out perfectly and goes seamlessly with the words. Great job! Oh- and if you get a sec I’d love for you to stop into my debut session of Sweet Sharing Monday (weekly linky with features) http://saynotsweetanne.com/2012/sweet-sharing-monday/

  2. Hi! Visiting from Michelle’s Tasty Creations! This came out great! I love the color. So smart to use Velcro too!

    Im going to poke around your blog a little more. I have a Friday link party (starting at midnight) I would love for you to share this!

  3. Hi,

    Thanks so much for linking up to Creative Thursday this week. These are adorable and red is my favorite color!

    I can’t wait to see what you link up next week. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Michelle

  4. Pingback: Show-Me-How 4.23.12 | It's a Blog Party

  5. Such a clever idea! And it really brightens your kitchen up. Does it make you smile every time you see it? 😉

    Thanks for linking to Time Travel Thursday. Hope to see you each week. Be sure to stop in tonight and see yourself featured!

    Blessings,
    Liz @ The Brambleberry Cottage

Leave a comment