Recycle Project: Kid’s Art Table

Standard

I  had been contemplating throwing out the kid’s Ikea Kritter table and chairs.  The paint work was chipped and the tabletop bubbled in places after it got caught outside during a freak torrential storm. Not having the heart to throw out the still study set, I thought I would breathe some new life into it.

Recycle Project: Kid's Art Table

After a good sand, I took to the set with a couple of  cans of cheap white gloss paint. I was amazed at just how much better it looked.

I found a place for the table in the kids’ playroom.  Looking at it here, it was clear that it would be a perfect art table.

Recycle Project: Kid's Art Table

To make it really functional as an art table, I thought I would attach some hooks to the side to hold our pen buckets. This way the kids would have easy access to whatever colour they needed.

Recycle Project: Kid's Art Table

I wanted to add a paper supply and had the brilliant idea of attaching a roll of kid’s art paper to the table.  However, as I wanted to attach it to a short side, to leave the long sides for the boys to sit at, it was impossible to find an appropriately sized roll of paper. I haven’t given up on the idea though. The search continues!

Until then, I am enjoying the fact that the ‘new’ table, and some flash new markers, has inspired some creativity in my boys.

Recycle Project: Kid's Art Table

One response »

Leave a Reply

