Snack Attack: Cheesy Polenta Chips

Standard

Some time back I had dinner at a Mexican restaurant and my sister ordered polenta chips for the table to share.  Oh. My. Goodness! They were divine!

I was determined to return post-haste, order a bowl to myself, and devour,  margarita in hand.  I was dreaming.

So last weekend I decided to have a go at making my own polenta chips.  There are lots of recipes out there, some healthy, others not so.  I decided to go with one of the healthiest and tastiest looking ones.

This recipe from Lose Baby Weight is baked, not fried and allows you to sneak in some vege, in my case, carrot. For those of you with a Thermomix, Fun With My Thermie, has also adapted this recipe.

They look pretty tasty, hey?

Homemade Polenta Chips

To go with these crunchy little morsels, I made some guacamole.  I also made this healthier by mixing the avocado with no-fat natural yoghurt, lemon and chilli.

These were a winner with the whole family.  It took a little prep, but it was well worth the effort.

By far our favourite chips of the bunch were the ones that were ‘overcooked’ and really crispy.  Next time I think I might cut the polenta into quite thin chips and cook them a tad longer. I don’t think it will be too long before I get the chance to try out this method 😉

Leave a Reply

