Organising Medications – Revisit and Cold & Flu Preparations

Standard

Even the best organising systems need to be revisited from time to time.  Today I revisited how I store our medicines.

I keep our medicines in plastic storers in our laundry, away from little fingers.  You can read about how I organise these more fully here.  After a good think about how things work, I decided that I was happy to keep it  as is and just give everything a good tidy up.

Organising Medicines

Organising Medicines

Things were looking a little messy, especially in the Children’s Medicine and First Aid boxes.  Obviously when the kids are sick or hurt, I get frazzled and my desire for order flies out the door.

Organising Medicines

Organising Medicines

I took the time to check all the use by dates and collect all the out of date medications.

Disposing of old medications

You should never dispose of medications yourself.  Here in Australia you can take old medicines to any pharmacy for them to dispose of properly.

As I returned items to their place, I wrote a list of things I needed to replenish.  I always like to keep a good stock of your basic medications like paracetamol, ibuprofen and anti-histamines on hand,  as a trip to the store is the last thing you need when you are feeling under the weather.

As it is coming into cold and flu season here in the southern hemisphere, I also took the time to pack a cold and flu attack box.  I wanted to gather up all the items, except pain meds, we use during those one or two weeks when the household is overrun with cold germs.  Rather than having these items spread between the first aid, children and adult medication boxes, I wanted them in the one spot and easy to access.  Some of the things I have moved into this box are:

  • Plug in vaporizer and refill pads
  • Steam vaporizer solution
  • Inhaler
  • Vapour rub
  • Nasal decongestants
  • Eye wash
  • Thermometer

Cold and Flu Attack Box

A few items on my cold and flu ‘To Buy’ list include:

 

  • Throat lozenges
  • Vitamin C and Zinc
  • Antibacterial spray ( to kill flu germs on door handles, remote controls etc)
  • Hand sanitizer

In putting together this cold and flu box, I might just have saved us from getting sick this winter.  Whenever I am prepared for the worst, it never happens. Ha – if only!

Do you prepare your household for flu season?

 

Leave a Reply

