Thermomix Demo – Beetroot Salad

Standard

I had a Thermomix demonstration at my place today. If you know nothing about this wizz-bang kitchen appliance, take a look at your own risk.  Without fail you will think it is amazing.  You will want one.  No, you will need one….And then you will see the ticket price.   They are very expensive.

But I digress from the point of this post.  The demonstrator made the best beetroot salad.  Whether I buy a Thermi or not, this recipe is going to be made again! You can make it too, with either a food processor or with a grater. I found the basic recipe for this on Quirky Cooking.  I have altered a few of the ingredients to mirror what the demonstrator used, and to suit those that are easy to find here.

BEETROOT SALAD

Ingredients 

400g raw beetroot (peeled & quartered)
100g carrot, quartered
 1/4 small red onion
1 green apple, quartered & deseeded
1 handful of fresh coriander/Italian parsley leaves
2 tbsp olive oil
juice of 1/2 lemon
1 tsp sugar
pinch salt
1/2 clove garlic

Method

Place roughly cut vegetables (including apple,  garlic and herbs) in Thermomix/food processor and chop on medium speed (sp. 5) until evenly chopped (2-3 seconds in Thermomix). Add oil, sugar and salt.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and chop again for a couple of seconds until you reach the desired consistency. Squeeze lemon over before serving.

You can see from the pic that this one is quite finely grated/chopped but you could leave it chunkier.  It would be great as a dip, in which case you could process it all a little longer. 

I am so glad there were left overs of this today.  I am going to enjoy having it with dinner tonight.

 

2 responses »

  1. This is quite a versatile recipe.I had to adjust it a bit as I only had one medium beetroot, less than 200g and no red onion so I used brown onion and I added a stick of celery. I also had to use that bottled lemon. It was delicious none the less and so easy to make last minute.

Leave a Reply

