Caramel Macadamia Biscuits

Standard

I was doing a quick grocery shop today and I came across Nestle’s new Caramel Bits. With 1/2 off their price, I had to buy a pack and sample them.

 

After a nibble – or two, I decided they would be a great substitute for white chocolate chips in a biscuit/cookie recipe.

After a bit of a search on taste.com.au, I found this chocolate and macadamia biscuit/cookie  recipe. 

Makes

36

Ingredients

  • 250g butter, softened
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups  Plain Flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 cup macadamia nuts, roughly chopped
  • 180g caramel bits

* These measurements are from an Australia website and are slightly different to American guidelines

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Line 3 baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat butter, sugars and vanilla together until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.
  3. Sift flour and baking powder over butter mixture. Add nuts and caramel chip. Stir with a large metal spoon until well combined.
  4. Drop heaped tablespoonfuls of mixture onto baking trays. Bake, 1 tray at a time, for 12 to 15 minutes or until light golden and firm to the touch (not crisp). Repeat with remaining trays. Stand on trays for 5 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

I suggest that this recipe is best left unaltered.  I thought I was channeling Nigella,  playing around with a few of the quantities and my biscuits turned out crumbly and a little dry.  That is not to say they weren’t yum.  Next time I will keep the caramel bits but follow the recipe to the letter. 

Now the kids are up from a nap, we are off to the park.  Master O is going to love being surprised with one of these for an afternoon tea picnic.

4 responses »

  1. Oh my word…these look SOO good! I wanted to stop by and thank you for linking up to the CHQ Blog Hop this week! I’d love it if you’d come back tomorrow and link this recipe up at the Keep Calm and Link Up Party! Starts at 7 p.m. EST 🙂
    Barbara @ Chase the Star

Leave a Reply

