Homemade Baby Food and Storage

Standard

After being so diligent making virtually all the baby food for baby number one, I have been super slack for baby number two.  Feeling guilty, I went to the grocer this morning and picked up some wonderful fruit and veg so I could cook and freeze portions to use over the next few weeks.

I like to cook and puree each of the fruit and veg separately and freeze them in tablespoon lots in my mumi&bubi freezing trays.  

I much prefer to use these as this way I can mix and match the fruit and veg so as Master C gets variety.  They also defrost a lot quicker than putting the food in those little pots.

To make meal time even easier for me, once the cubes are frozen,  I pop them out and put them into labelled ziplock bags. I keep these in Master C’s own basket in the freezer. 

So what did I cook today?

  • Pumpkin
  • Cauliflower
  • Sweet Potato
  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Apple and Cinnamon
  • Kiwi fruit
  • Avocado

So this should help with feeding my hungry little man for a while.  I am glad I took the time to do this today, even if  I was not so happy about dropping a half-filled freezer tray of pureed spinach.

 Bugger!

7 responses »

  1. Great idea to make ahead — and you know it is healthy with no added “stuff”! Like your organized storage solution too! Thanks so much for sharing on busy Monday!

  2. Pingback: Take it on Tuesday #41: Advertise at Romance on a dime! « Romance on a Dime

  3. Thanks so much for sharing how you make your baby food last week with Wednesday’s Adorned From Above. This is great information. I hate it when I spill things I am trying to make. I once wrecked a whole chocolate bundt cake by dropping it on the counter. The link party is open now for this week.
    Just follow this link.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2012/08/apple-cinnamon-roll-pull-aparts-and.html
    Debi Bolocofsky
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

Leave a Reply

