Kids’ Playroom and Easy DIY Art Ideas

Standard

Yesterday I wrote about the decision to convert our study into a playroom and the toy storage solutions we decided to put there. Today I thought I would give you a tour of the room.

We have broken the room into zones for different types of activities.  The most important zone is toy storage.  I showed you this yesterday, but here it is again.

Here you can see our Trofast units and above them is hanging our colouring pen storage that I wrote about the other day. The large green flexi tub holds all my 3-year-olds art and craft supplies.  Not the best solution, but at least it can be easily moved around.

You can see in this picture my set of three canvas with the words, ‘Play Laugh Sing’.  I wanted to brighten up the room with some bright colours and patterns reflecting the red and green of the Trofast tubs.  As I was unsure if the room would work as a playroom,  I didn’t want to spend a fortune on decorating it.  I picked up some coordinating fabric at the local haberdashery and covered three plain art canvas with my favourite fabrics.  I printed off the letters I needed from Microsoft Word and traced these onto my chosen fabric’.  When I had cut them out, I stuck them to the canvas with spray adhesive.    This has worked really well, no fraying or falling off.

We have put the creative zone in the corner of the room beside the windows.  It gets great light and has a lovely outlook.  On the desk I keep a collection of colouring and sticker books for Mater O to grab when the mood takes him.  I store these in a file divider.  You can read about how I use these to organise things in my house here.

The final kid zone is the reading area.  I have a small bookcase in the corner and a comfortable couch for him to snuggle up on and read.  If Mater O disappears and the house is quiet, I often find him sitting and reading here (that, or he is off doing something naughty ;)).

In this area we have stuck up some cool monkey decals from Bright Star Kids and a set of  family handprints we did when Charlie was born. 

Above the bookcase I made my own owl picture in a shadow frame I was no longer using.  I had picked up some cute cardboard owls at a craft fair and using some patterned scrapbooking sticker paper, I created a background and a branch to stick the owls on.

The remaining zone in the room is mine – the computer/work zone.  It has worked well in this room, as when I have work to do, the kids can happily play beside me.  Above the computer we have framed a painting we bought from a local artist when we were living in the Solomon Islands.  My husband and son LOVE fish.

 So that is our playroom/study.  It isn’t overly fancy but it is bright and neat due to some really good storage solutions.  Master O loves having run of the room and has become really good at caring for it and keeping it clean – one less job for Mum! 

 

19 responses »

  1. Absolutely adorable! I am going to share it. My daughter will love this cute and colourful arrangement. It is perfect for her!!

  2. Great organization!!! It looks wonderful.
    Visiting by way of Sew Can Do linkup party. I’d love for you to stop by and visit at beingmomme.blogspot.com

  3. I love those totes, I’ve been looking for something like that. I know what I’ll be looking for the next time hubby has a good commission check : )
    KML
    lessonsfromivy.com

  4. It’s beautiful. You did such an amazing job. I love how your brought in the pops of color with the artwork. If only it could stay that clean, right? 😉

  5. Love the Trofast storage! Definitely a fun place for kids. If you ever get in the mood to change things up, if you put the shelves the opposite way(tall sides to the outside), it would create a dandy little seat great for curling up with a book. Could even add a bench cushion in a bright fabric to match your adorable wall art.

  6. You’ve created a delightful space for the kiddos. All the personalized elements, like the family handprints, make it even more special.

    Thanks for linking to Time Travel Thursday. Hope you’ll join the fun each week.

    Blessings,
    Liz @ The Brambleberry Cottage

Leave a Reply

