Little Boys Room Freshen Up. Part 2 – Decorating

Standard

Last week I overhauled my 3-year-old’s room.  I posted about improving the storage here, so today I thought I would show you how I have started to decorate it.  It has been quite inexpensive.  I have taken advantage of some great sales and I made some of the pieces myself.

So starting at outside his door…….

I framed and hung a series of pictures of him we took a few months ago. He chose the poses to photograph and which ones he liked best.  This was his idea as he wanted a set of pictures like  the ones that hang outside his brother’s door.

On his door I applied a decal with his name I ordered from online store, Bright Star Kids.  I decided on placing it a little differently than I intended and ran it up the side of the door.  It is lovely and bright  and the quality of the sticker is great.

Inside his room….

I picked up a set of 3 star canvas from the kids bedding section in Target.  I got these quite a while ago so I don’t remember what they cost me but I know they were significantly reduced.

I wanted something to hang above his bed and to tie in with his pirate print doona cover.  After wracking my brain for a while and not really liking anything I came up with, I decided to frame one of the pillow cases from his bed pack.  I picked up a suitably sized frame from Target, 50% off.

I had purchased a large red magnetic board from Ikea to put in Oliver’s big boy room well before he was even out of the nursery. Before I even attached the board, they were discontinued and I picked up another for an even better price.  These were perfectly siz0ed to fit either side of his window and serve as a place to practice his letter and number skills with magnets.  To attach pictures to the magnetic board I picked up some pirate theme pegs from a craft fair and attached magnets to their backs using glue.

I mentioned in the previous post that I wanted to set up a little gallery to hang pieces of Oliver’s art.  Previously, I had pegged his art to a canvas I had painted and jazzed up with wooden letters spelling, ‘Look what I did today’.  It was cute but it was starting to be a little droopy and we wanted to have more hanging room.  

On my last trip to Ikea, I picked up some Nyttja frames in a variety of sizes and colours.  These are great for kids rooms because they not only come in a range of bright colours and are reasonably priced, but they are lightweight and have plastic fronts instead of glass.

 I have made the gallery smaller than I originally intended but I know I can always add to it later.  Depending on the artwork I end up framing, a less is more approach may be in order ;).

To inject a little more interest into the display, I took some the wooden letters I had around the house and spray painted them blue and stuck them to one of the small frames.  I will pop a picture of my little monkey in the ‘My Work’ frame.

On his side table I have his Freedom lamp, picked up from the throw out table.  Adding to the nautical theme brought out in the linen, I used some felt scraps and thick cotton thread to sew a sail boat picture and I popped it in a frame that I was no longer using.

So that is what I have done so far.  I will no doubt tweak and add things in the coming weeks and I will share that with you when I do so.

30 responses »

  1. How clever to frame a pillowcase and how perfect:) Just dropping in from Friday Shout Out to meet you! Also I would love to invite you to share any of your favorite posts at Freedom Fridays Blog Hop. So hoping to see you there!

  2. Very creative — love the red, white and blue pirate theme! The name in red sideways up the door is great! Thanks so much for sharing on Busy Monday at A Pinch of Joy. Hope to see you again soon!

  3. It was nice going with you on your adventure of making your little boy’s room into a well-organized and uncluttered bedroom. What I especially like is that it was an inexpensive venture and not laden with complicated ideas and simple to put together ideas.

    As others have also commented I couldn’t help but love the simple idea of framing the pillowcase so it matches the pillow on the bed. I especially like that everything you have done is something within all of our means and the simple fact that a little boy’s room should be functional as much as looking attractive has not been overlooked but still you have managed some nice little touches.

    From your part 1 post, I thought using tubs was an excellent idea and although drawers are nice and useful, with a baby that will soon be on the move and crawling around it is a very sensible idea to secure things in tubs.

    Best of all, at a young age I’m sure Oliver will take a pride in his room and hence be easily encouraged to keep it neat as everything has its place which should encourage him to learn to put things away after him. He will know where everything goes and naturally instilling these things into him at an early age can only be beneficial. Thank you for sharing yours and Oliver’s adventure with us.

  4. Thanks so much for sharing this post at my Say G’day linky party! Oliver’s room is really looking great. I bet he loves it!

    This week’s linky is now live and I am very excited to invite you to a Social media linky party that I will be hosting on July 14. The details are all at the blog if you would like to join in.

    Best wishes for a wonderful weekend,
    Natasha in Oz

Leave a Reply

