Placemat Clutch Tutorial

Standard
Placemat Clutch Tutorial

I recently gave my closet a huge clean out.  My handbag collection suffered massive casualties.  Yet to replace the losses, and no longer having a clutch, I was in a bind the afternoon before a girl’s night out.  I didn’t want to take my massive mummy-of two bag along so I desperately searched for a solution.  It was then I had a brain wave – a clutch made out of a placemat.  I convinced myself I was brilliant until a quick search of the internet found it as a less than original thought.  Oh well. At least I knew that the project would work!

I had a nice placemat going spare after completing another sewing project using placemats.  The blue would also go nicely with the outfit I planned to wear that night. 

 Here is what I did.  I hope you find it helpful so that you can recreate this easy sewing project for yourself.

Fold the placemat into thirds, ensuring that the outside fold does not reach the edge.

Sew along the two edges of the inside fold to make the ‘inside’ of the bag.  If your placemat has been top stitched like mine, just sew over these seam.

Add a clasp if so inclined. I hand stitched on a simple one as I was running out of time

Embellish the front if so inclined.  I had a beaded brooch I wore once to a hen’s party.  I pinned it on the front for some added interest.  As it is not sewn on, I will be able to replace it with another decoration for another occasion. 

 I have a necklace that I have never worn which I think I could work into an embellishment for the clutch.  What do you think?

I am loving this as a cheap alternative to store-bought clutches! I am definitely going to be scouring the napery department from now on for further projects.

25 responses »

  1. Turned out beautifully — love the idea of being able to change the embellishments. Both the ones you chose are perfect — the fun feathery one and the elegant bejeweled one! Thanks so much for sharing on Busy Monday at A Pinch of Joy. Hope to see you again soon!

  2. This is FABULOUS!!! Such a great idea!! I would have never thought of using a placemat to make a clutch! Genius!

    Thanks for sharing at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality!

  3. What a great way to upcycle a placemat or even use a new one 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by Creative Thursday last week. I couldn’t do these parties without you. Can’t wait to see what you link up this week. Have a great week.
    Michelle

  4. What a super cute bag. I will be featuring it tonight at my Swing into Spring party that opens at 8pm EST. Please stop by and pick up an I’ve Been Featured button. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

