Cauliflower and Parmesan – Soup for the Sick

Standard

I know my beautiful 6 month old is going to grow into the most giving of souls as he had no qualms about giving me his cold this week.

One ridiculously happy, but sick, baby.

After feeling sleep-deprived and fragile after a few ordinary nights dealing with his illness, I woke up yesterday feeling like I had been hit by a bus!

As the weather here in Brisbane is slowly getting colder, soup for dinner was almost a sure bet, but with an illness, it was a must.

I thought I would try something other than the usual pea and ham or pumpkin soup and found this recipe for cauliflower and parmesan soup.  It was simple and required very few ingredients; onion, garlic, cauliflower, parmesan and milk, all of which I have on hand most of the time.

The whole thing cooked up in no time and made the smoothest soup.  It was quite thick so I chose to dilute it with some vegetable stock and therefore I ended up with the biggest pot of delicious soup.

The flavour was quite subtle but very nice. Everyone in the house loved it.

I have frozen the left over soup in small one person serves in ziplock bags.  By laying them flat to freeze, they take up hardly any room in the freezer and they are quick to defrost.

I’m glad I tried this recipe.  I am now on the lookout for other soup recipes to try this winter.

3 responses »

  1. I love soup. Some of my favorite vegetarian soup recipes are on my site. Thanks for the link to this recipe! I love when a few ingredients turn into something great. 🙂

  2. My son has those thumper pj’s awwwwwww so cute. I hope you get well soon and thanks for the lovely soup recipe x

Leave a Reply

