Paint Chip Garland

Standard
Paint Chip Garland

I have had some paint chips lying around in anticipation of a fun craft project. My cute niece turns five next week so I thought her birthday was the perfect event to get crafting for.

For her present, I have already created some fabric yo-yo clothes for the cooler weather here in Australia. You can read about these here and here. For the party, I thought the paint chips could be used to make a garland to hang behind her cake table.

I have made these garlands with scrapbooking paper before and they look great. They are also super quick and easy to make if you use your sewing machine to string them together. Here is how I did it:

Picking out the pink and yellow paint chips, I used my Friskars craft punches to cut out plain and scalloped edged circles.

I roughly worked out a pattern for the paint chip colours and ensured I had enough for the length of garland I needed. For this party I chose to make three smaller garlands in differing patterns.

Using standard cotton threaded in my machine, and selecting a plain stitch, I lined up the paint chips and got sewing. I made sure that there was adequate length of cotton at each end of the garland so I could hang it.

As I am hanging this garland against a wall, there was no need for the garland to be double-sided. I could have sewn two chips back-to-back if I wanted to have two presentation sides.

If you don’t have a sewing machine, don’t fret, you could always do this project using craft glue and ribbon.

Check back with me during the next week to see what other birthday projects I have on the go.

7 responses »

  1. I never would have thought of sewing paper for garland – what a great idea! My girls will love this for decorating their American Girl doll “houses”.

Leave a Reply

