Freezer Clean Up and Organisation

Standard

Last week I wrote about how my new roll-out shelves for my fridge had made its more organised and neat. You can read about my fridge’s organisation here.  My freezer’s organisation is a different story.

We have two freezer spaces in the Crooked household.  We have a deep freeze in our garage to keep all our meat, ice blocks and frozen vegetables and that stays pretty organised.  I will share with you it’s organisation another time.  The fridge-freezer in the kitchen is where we store all the kids foods and it is a schmozzle!

Half empty packets of frozen food seemed to multiply in here.  Despite the clutter, it is quite empty at the moment because I usually have a lot of frozen, homemade baby food in here.

Getting sick of sorting through the bags I did a quick clean out today.  I threw out anything looking dodgy and returned items that had snuck in from the deep freeze.  After seeing exactly what I had left,  I decided some containers were needed here to sort the mess. Have I mentioned that I heart containers!

After picking up two small and two medium containers from Kmart and printing up a few labels, the freezer was organised like this:

The tops shelf contains a container for each of the boys.  Oliver’s is stocked with muffins and frozen yoghurt for daycare days.  Charlie’s holds ziplock bags with his frozen baby food in them.  In between the containers is space to put my baby food freezer trays.

The bottom shelf has a container for all the frozen foods I have on hand for those nights when quick meals are the go.  The other container holds all the frozen fruits we use in our breakfast smoothies or  porridge.

This has left the door pretty much empty.  I have here a few rolls of homemade choc chip cookie dough so I can easily whip up something to nibble on if guests pop in for a coffee. I also keep a few ice packs on hand to throw in with the boys lunch boxes.

Yet again containers have come to the rescue to help organise things in our household.

17 responses »

  1. WOW! Can you come do mine too? I think the freezer is the most neglected space in the house. Thanks so much for linking up to Creative Thursday this week. I can’t wait to see what you link up next week. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Michelle

  2. I need to organize our freezer.
    Thanks for sharing at our Sunday Round Up! Can’t wait to see what you have for us next weekend. Have a GREAT week!
    xoxo
    Heather

  3. wow! I’m really impressed! I have a tiny freezer (only) so this may help me out! came over from Serenity Now!

  4. Pingback: Show-Me-How 5.21.12 | It's a Blog Party

  5. This looks great! I have a similar freezer disorganization problem, and I’m thinking containers like yours might be a great solution!

    -Chaney (Came over from IHeart Organizing)

Leave a Reply

