Whoopie Pies

Standard
Whoopie Pies

Whoopie Pies.  Weird name but they are one of the latest trends in baking along with cake balls and macarons.  They are cute cakey morsels that look yummo.

I have for a while admired these treats.  When I first saw them on an American blog I trawled the net for recipes and ideas filing them away for a special occasion.  I am forever on the lookout for new ideas for our parties and I could see these having pride of place on a dessert table sometime soon.

Well it just so happened that I was passing my local Robins Kitchen Store the other day and they had 20% off storewide.  Nested in the back of the overflowing store was a mini whoopee pie/macaron  pan.  It has the indents already made in the pan so you can produce the perfect sized baked morsels.  I had to buy it and give it a try.

Coincidentally, in Woolworths that day they had 50% off Betty Crocker  Whoopie Pie kits.  It must have been fate.  I picked up a packet and was determined to see if these whoopie pie things were all they were cracked up to be.

Some of you may well be tsk tsk-ing at my choice to use a packet mix right now.  While I love the idea of making things from scratch and can appreciate the taste homemade goods have, I don’t often have the time these days to devote to from-scratch baking. If I didn’t give the packet mix a go I would probably not know what a whoopie pie tasted like until I baked them in a tired haze hours before guest descended for a birthday or some such occasion. I have also come to learn that my kid, hubby and my friend’s teens, who would all no doubt be the main consumers, don’t care if they come from a packet.

The Betty Crocker mix was easy and straightforward.  The finished mix was quite thick so I can so I can see they would be relatively easy to spoon onto a flat tray if you didn’t have a mould tray like I do.

In saying that though, the Whoopie Pie tray worked a treat.  Each of the pies came out in a uniform shape and size but I did overfill the recesses – something to remember for next time.  They were easily finished by sandwiching two pieces together with some frosting.  Master O then rolled the pies in hundreds and thousands.  Here is what they looked like when finished:We each had one for afternoon tea and it went down nicely.  Certainly worth getting on this whole whoopie pie bandwagon I say! Next time I promise I will try them from scratch.  I just have to since I found the recipes for these flavour combos:

Yum!

Leave a Reply

