Restoring Order to a Messy House – Step 2

Standard

Last Wednesday I shared with you my first step to restoring order to a messy house.  You can revisit step one here.  My second step takes advantage of the clutter-free rooms to clean the floors.

Depending on your flooring this can be a simple or laborious task.  I have a combination of tiles and carpet which means a clean floor requires a vacuum clean, then a mop.  When the floors are really dirty there is no escaping these two stages to a clean floor but there are ways to minimise how often you need to do this.  It does require a few minutes tending to the floors every second day or so but helps to avoid the full-blown vacuum and annoying mop and bucket routine.

Before I put in place my current daily floor cleaning routine, I used a microfibre mop to keep the floors relatively clean.  I purchased a Stabco Super Swish Total mop  from Bunnings that came with two removable and washable fibres.  Every second day I would use the  dry shaggy cloth to pick up hair, dirt and dust.  I would then swap my cloth for the wet microfibre one and go over the high traffic areas again.  Its sounds like a pain but it was super quick and easy to use.   I would do all my floors in 10 minutes.  Another great advantage of this mop was that the wet cloth need only be damp to work, so the floors dry really quickly.  I found this to be a great advantage because trying to keep a 3-year-old at bay while waiting for a floor to dry is what I call torture.

While I still use this method occasionally to keep the floors clean, I have ‘contracted’ out most of my day-to-day floor cleaning to ‘Big Red’.  Cue the angels singing and spotlight as Robomaid enters the room …..

It would not be an exaggeration to say I LOVE Big Red. I pop her on most  days and she vacuums and mops simultaneously while I do anything other than cleaning the floors-  mostly eat my breakfast.  By the time I am ready to head out for the day, the floors are spick and span and if Master O creates a mess at meal time, she has my back yet again.  They really are an ingenious product.  You can read about how these work at the Robomaid Australia website here.  If you have ever considered buying a robot vacuum cleaner I say, “Go for it.”

So when it looks like a bomb has hit my house, undertaking Steps 1 and 2 to Restoring Order makes me feel the house is well and truly on its way to recovery.  If I haven’t slacked off – or should I say – if Big Red has not slacked off in the days leading up to the ‘bombing,’ the task of cleaning the floors is not too bad and I am pumped to start Step 3.  Tune in next week for Step 3!

7 responses »

  1. I’ve always wondered if those types of vacuums worked well. It just seems too good to be true! Glad it’s working for you- I may need to invest in one myself!

    New follower from Follow Me Wednesday!

  2. mmmm sounds like I need to talk hubby into a new purchase. Or maybe a Mother’s Day present? loving your blog mate xo

  3. I’ve been browsing online greater than 3 hours lately, but I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty value sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the net will probably be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

