How to Make Fabric Yo-Yos

Standard
How to Make Fabric Yo-Yos

Have you made these cute little fabric yo-yos before?  They are super easy and I think they are gorgeous.

I am working on a bit of craft project this week that requires quite a few of these.  I haven’t finished my project enough to show you yet but I thought I would put up a quick tutorial on how to make these yo-yos for yourself.  I have also included a few ideas on how you can use your completed yo-yos to pretty up your day.

1. Create a template by copying a circle onto card and cutting it out.  You can use anything round to help – a lid, or a cup and saucer as I did.  The only rule of thumb is that it needs to be roughly twice the size of your intended yo-yo.

2. Using your template, trace the circles onto the back side of your fabric using chalk or a water-soluble pen.  Cut out your fabric circles3. Fold over a 0.5cm hem and using a running stitch sew close to the folded edge. 4.  Once you have sewn around the entire edge of the fabric circle, carefully pull the thread until the folded edge gathers in the centre. Use a few stitches to hold your gathers. Trim any loose threads.

5. Your yo-yo can be used as is or you can sew on something like a button to cover the gathers in the centre.You can use your fabric yo-yos to decorate just about anything – you are only limited by your imagination.  Here are some cute ideas I found on the net.

Come back in a few days time to see what I do with my fabric yo-yos. I would love to see what you do with yours too!

 

8 responses »

Leave a Reply

