Passionfruit Curd

Standard
Passionfruit Curd

My parents have a spectacular passionfruit vine at their house.  The vine hangs heavy with the best passionfruit I have ever tasted.  They are super sweet and so juicy.  Master O and I love to pick the fruit.  On my last trip ‘home’ we collected two plastic bags full of ripe fruit. After giving away a heap I was still left with a massive number so I chose to make some passionfruit curd – 5 batches of it to be exact!  I have tried numerous different recipes but this time tried a microwave version….

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • ¾  cup castor sugar
  • ¾ cup passionfruit pulp  (6-8 average sized passionfruit)
  • 125 grams butter – chilled and chopped

Method

  1. Place eggs, egg yolks and sugar in a large microwave proof bowl and whisk well
  2. Add passionfruit and chopped butter and stir to combine
  1. Microwave the mixture for between 6 to 10 minutes at 50% power , stopping every minute to give the mixture a whisk .  You will know the mixture is ready when it is thick and coats the back of a spoon

  1. Seal the mixture in sterilised jars (it makes about 3 cups worth) and cool in the refrigerator

This is a pretty resilient recipe which can cope with a little bit of fiddling.  I made one batch in double quantity with no problem except it took about 14 minutes to get it to the right consistency.  I have used less sugar as my parent’s passionfruit were so sweet.  I also substituted the sugar for Splenda and Dextrose to suit friends and family who don’t go for sugar – all to great effect.  I also tried putting more passionfruit pulp in the recipe.  As the passionfruit were so juicy it was only taking 3 fruit to yield the ¾ cup.  Not good enough considering I had so many passionfruit!  It didn’t affect the result at all.

Passionfruit curd is super yummy spooned over lots of things…..pavlova, sponges, ice cream, toast, crumpets, pikelets or yoghurt.  If none of these are at hand, you can do what I caught my husband doing the other night….eating it straight from the jar.

I still have at least a dozen passionfruit left and I know there is another 3 dozen or so ready to be picked tomorrow. Help! I need more passionfruit recipes.

Linking up with:
Amee’s Savoury Dish For the Mommas Permanent Posies I Heart Naptime

One response »

Leave a Reply

