Easter Centrepiece

Standard
Easter Centrepiece

I have been surfing the blogosphere in the last week looking at all the beautiful Easter decorations and projects people undertake at this time fo the year.   In the past I would have found dozens of fantastic ideas, planned to do 99% of them but in reality got around to doing about 1% of them.  This year I have been more realistic and chosen just a few things to do – mostly ones that can include my 3-year-old.

So before I get to my latest Easter decoration project – my Easter table centrepiece, I will give you a run down on the few things we have done so far.

Our Easter decorations began with the addition of Sooty and Snowflake to our household.  We aren’t allowed to have bunnies as pets here in Queensland and we don’t have any living pets in the Crooked home either, so these are the next best thing.  No food to buy and no cleaning up! Master O has fallen in love with them. 

We painted some styrofoam eggs, rolled them in glitter and hung them on some artificial Pussywillow branches I picked up from freedom.

We made some fingerprint chick place cards and gift tags.  You can read about how we did these here

My husband has been loving the cake pops we made the other day. You can read about them here.

Master O did an Easter mask workshop at a local shopping centre the other day.  A little scary to my way of thinking but he is happy to have it hanging in his room.  We baked and decorated some Easter egg biscuits last night.  And now to my Easter centrepiece.  I have never created a celebration centrepiece before so I really did not know where to start or what I should do.  Inspiration struck when I found this cute ceramic bunny and painted blue eggs at Bed Bath and Table the other day.  They had 50% off so I just had to have them.

Considering the palate of these purchases I decided that blue, green and yellow would be my table colours this Easter.  I popped the bunny on a cake stand, wrapped him in some moss I had purchased some time ago at Freedom Home and strategically placed the blue eggs around him.  On our walk this morning, Master O stopped to pick some daisies and we decided to place these on the centrepiece to bring in the colour yellow.  So here is how it turned out…

I am quite happy with it considering I am a centrepiece novice.  I think centrepieces are a really effective decoration and I will be looking to make others for future special events.  If you want to have a go at one yourself, take to the net as there is some great inspiration out there.

Linking up with:

Style Sisters Pinch of joy Skip To My Lou

Beyond The Picket Fenceshabby creek cottageSumo's Sweet Stuff

TDC Before and After

 Be Different, Act Normal Our Best Bites

3 responses »

  1. You SHOULD be quite happy with the end result of your centerpiece…it is really pretty! It’s something that both adults and children can enjoy, no mess, and really easy to take apart when Easter is over. Bravo! Very interesting expression on the face of the mask. 🙂 Curious…why are you not able to have rabbits as pets? Is it because they so readily multiply or is it more of a health & sanitation issue? My brother, sister and I had a bunny for about a year when we were growing up. Our parents wouldn’t let us by a playmate for it, and we had a hard time understanding why. Years later in health class at school, I found out why!!! 🙂 Have a Happy Easter!

    • Thanks Alycia for your comments…I am glad you like my centrepiece. Yes rabbits are not allowed here because of their breeding and their effect when feral on agriculture. A shame because I think they are so lovely as pets. Happy Easter

  2. What a fun mom you are…doing all these fun crafts with your little man! Creative centerpiece idea using the cake plate with the bunny and eggs and moss! Great idea! Thanks for linking up and sharing your ideas with us.

    Karin

Leave a Reply

