Super Easy and Healthier Pancakes

Standard

Happy Shrove Tuesday or Pancake Day!

A few weeks ago I wrote about some of the ways I organise myself for a streamlined breakfast time.  It was then that I promised that I would share with you a great pancake recipe.  Today seems like the perfect day to live up to that promise.

I love this recipe as it is super easy to remember, always produces fluffy pancakes, has only 3 ingredients and no sugar.

Basic Pancakes – Serves 2+ (from here)

Ingredients

1 cup self-raising flour

1 cup milk (full cream, skim, soy)

1 egg

Fantastic Basic Pancake Recipe

Method

1. Whisk egg into milk

2. Place flour into a bowl and incorporate the milk and egg mixture

3. Lightly grease a fry pan with butter or spray oil

4. Cook large spoonfuls of mixture until bubble appear on the surface and the edges firm

5. Turn pancakes and cook until the other side is golden brown

Fantastic Basic Pancake Recipe

There is no need to add sugar to this recipe if you are serving with sweet toppings.  You could choose to add a few tablespoons of sugar if you prefer a sweeter cake.  Sometimes I add vanilla to this recipe for a change.

One tip I swear by is letting the batter rest for a little while before cooking.  If you are ravenous and must jump right in, you are still going to end up with fantastic pancakes, but if you can wait 10-20 minutes, the pancakes will be fluffier.

When I make extras to freeze for breakfasts or morning teas, I layer grease proof paper between the cakes before freezing in ziplock bags.  30 seconds in the microwave, they are warm and ready for topping.

Fantastic Basic Pancake Recipe

Fantastic Basic Pancake Recipe

I hope you enjoy this recipe.

Leave a Reply

