DIY Laundry Art

Standard

While we wait for our cabinet-maker to slot our laundry upgrade into his busy schedule, I have been itching to start making some art for the walls.  Tired of waiting I just did it yesterday.

Previously, this hung above the counter.

While they don’t look too bad in this photo, they were becoming a little tatty.  They were also too big.  As we are getting new cabinets, the wall space will be significantly reduced, meaning smaller artwork was needed.

I picked up a few plain white frames, some seaside patterned cardstock and cardboard letter cutouts from a craft store, in the hope of making some simple, clean-looking art.

I have written about my love for typography in my kitchen wall art post, so I thought I could easily feed this love by slotting more into the laundry.

After painting the cardboard letters a dark teal colour to match the seaside pattern, I stuck the cardstock in the frame.  When the letters were dry, using a hot glue gun I arranged the letters to spell out, ‘Wash, Rinse, Repeat’  and stuck them in the bottom right corner of each frame.

Even though they will move when the cabinets are hung, and they are positioned a little too high for my liking, I had to hang these already. 

I like that they look neat and clean while being really, really simple to make. I hope I can show you these in their proper home (and my new laundry too) before too long.

25 responses »

  1. I love them. I am currently making over my laundry and you have inspired me with what to do for some wall art. Thanks. Yours look great.

  2. I love what you did to update…I’m in love with typography/quotes/sayings throughout the home too :)
    Thanks for sharing and linking up with us @ Toot Your Horn Tuesday. I’m featuring this post today from last weeks party. Feel free to come pick up your feature button if you wish from Chronic Christian Crafter. Congrats and great job!!!

    Erin

Leave a Reply

