When Life Hands You Lemons, Make Lemon Curd

Standard

The mountain of lemons picked from my parents yard is slowly dwindling thanks to a meal plan focused on their citrus-y goodness.  One would think you would get  sick of them but I have quite liked everything I have made (You can read about my lemon delicious slice and hummus).   The other day I added lemon curd to my list of concoctions after my success with my passionfruit curd not that long ago.  I must say I am loving it and I highly recommend you give it a go if you have a few lemons spare.

Lemon Curd

Ingredients

  • 100g unsalted butter, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups castor sugar
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated lemon rind
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten

Method

  • Place everything except the eggs in a heatproof bowl. Place the bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, making sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Cook, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon until the sugar dissolves. Remove from heat.
  • Whisk in eggs and return the bowl to the saucepan.
  • Continue to cook, stirring with a wooden spoon until mixture thickens and coats the back of the spoon (about 8 minutes). Remove from heat.
  • Set aside for 5 minutes to cool. Strain into hot, sterilised jars.
  • Keep refrigerated for up to 1 month.

My 3-year-old is in love with this curd and has been having a spoonful of it on homemade natural yoghurt as a treat.    I love that I know exactly what is in this snack, that it is fresh and pesticide and preservative free. So much better for him than the sugar-ladden kids yoghurt you buy at the shops these days.

What are you making from your own home grown goodies?

Leave a Reply

