When Life Hands You Lemons, Make Lemon Delicious Slice

Standard
When Life Hands You Lemons, Make Lemon Delicious Slice

A little while back, I told you about my parent’s bumper crop of passionfruit.  I had to make about eight batches of passionfruit curd and indulge in some yummy cocktails to get through the glut.  Well now it seems like their citrus trees are going wild.  There are so many lemons, limes and oranges ready to be picked, we are again scrambling to find recipes to use up the crop.

I turned to my favourite recipe site Taste for some inspiration.  I love this site as there are thousands of recipes collated here from all manner of recipe magazines.  By far the stand out feature for me is the review section.  People who use the recipes can write a review and their information is invaluable to help choose, alter or improve a recipe.

My first baking session to rid me of the lemon pile was double batch of Lemon Delicious Slice I made earlier today.

The recipe was simple.  Mix melted butter, sugar, vanilla and flour and press into a slice pan and bake.

While the base is set aside to cool, whisk eggs, sugar, flour, lemon zest and lemon juice, then pour over the base.

Bake. Cool. Cut into portions while watching your slice fall apart. ‘WHAT ?” I hear you say.

As I was removing the slice from its tray it began to split and the curd-like topping began to slide a little.  Once I started to cut it, the base began to crumble.  While most of the slices were salvageable, there were a few shocking ones and a couple that were completely obliterated.

As hurdles like these are often thrown at me when I am baking, I didn’t have a hissy fit (this time).  It tasted great so I know it will be eaten dispite the less-than-pretty appearance of most of the pieces.  As for the destroyed slices, Hubby is getting a very special dessert tonight - Deconstructed Lemon Delicious Slice.

It doesn’t look like much at the moment, but add a little custard and he will be as happy as a pig in mud!

Linking up with Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

Leave a Reply

