Cocktail Hour – Passionfruit and Lime Caprioskas

Standard

I am looking forward to a dinner date with the hubby tonight.  We have pre-ordered an amazing seafood platter so I have been salivating over the thought of it all day.

To whet the appetite before we head out I thought I would make a little cocktail.   After much internal debate I settled on my own version of a Caprioska.  I planned to make use of my passionfruit (you can read about the bumper crop here), some lovely limes and a huge bunch of mint I had bought at the farmer’s markets.

Passionfruit and Lime Caprioska

Makes 2

Ingredients

1 lime unpeeled and coarsely chopped

1 ½ tbs castor sugar

½ cup  mint leaves

1 cup ice

½ cup vodka

¼ cup lime juice

¼ cup passionfruit pulp

Method

1.Split the chopped lime, sugar and half the mint leaves between two glasses and with a muddling stick and pound until crushed.  Alternatively you can do this in a mortar and pestle.

Hubby lending a hand

2. Top with ice.

3. Combine the lime juice, vodka, passionfruit pulp and remaining mint in a jug.  Pour into glasses.  If you wish to make it a little less potent you could top with some soda or lemonade if you have a real sweet tooth.

4. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

